NWRA Women’s Council elects new board members

The National Waste and Recycling Association (NWRA) Women’s Council recently announced its 2019 board, which was elected Oct. 22, 2018. Carmen Smothers from ESG/3rd Eye, Chattanooga, Tennessee, has been re-elected to serve as the 2019 board president. Smothers has been a member of the Women’s Council since 2005 and has served on various council committees.

Faith Zydowsky (Sierra Container Group, Pasadena, California) will serve as vice president; Dianne Cervantes (Waste Corp. of America, Houston) as treasurer; and Cheryl Waite (Perkins Manufacturing, Bolingbrook, Illinois) as secretary. Colleen Reilly (Rehrig Pacific, Erie, Pennsylvania) will serve as fundraising chair; Tamara Humpherys (Preco Electronics, Boise, Idaho) as membership/marketing chair; Katie Raverty Evans (Best Way Disposal, Berlington, Kentucky) as professional development chair; and Tammy Holtzman (Waste Connections, Toronto) as scholarship chair. Holtzman also serves as the immediate past president. Peggy Macenas (NWRA) will continue to serve as the council director.

“It’s a privilege to serve as president of the Women’s Council,” Smothers says in a written statement. “I’m honored to work with this experienced board. The Women’s Council has much in store for 2019, including the awarding of $35,000 in academic scholarships, 2019 Carts On Display at WasteExpo and educational opportunities for the industry.”

The Women’s Council is made up of NWRA member company employees who work together on education, professional development and managing the academic scholarship program. The NWRA represents the interests of the private sector waste and recycling services industry.